Illustration Friday: “glow” for Christmas Day

slumbering-moonlit-cedars

“Slumbering Moonlit Cedars” – prints available in my Etsy shop: https://www.etsy.com/listing/118834116/slumbering-moonlit-cedars-original

I decided this time to try my hand at simulating elements of a classic woodcut print for this week’s “glow” theme “.  I looked to M.C. Escher’s “Dragon” as inspiration and a guide to the look of shading that I was striving for. I’ll always be in awe of this man’s work. Truly ahead of his time.

EscherDragon

“Dragon” by M.C. Escher

This is really difficult to master digitally. Custom blends, clipping paths and incremental positioning of shading elements made it one of the most tedious projects I’ve done in a long time. Overall, I’m pretty happy with the results. Here are a few variations of blends I used for each area. Most were customized for each area of snow.

detail-technique-glow

Some detail closeups and a couple tricks I used:

Leave a Reply

